Monthly Observing Slot Entries

Monthly Observing Slot Submissions

If you would like to send us an image to show at a forthcoming WOLAS monthly meeting then please email it or send it to our Observations Director whose details are on the Contact Us page. After the monthly meeting we will post the image on this website in the Members' Recent Observations Gallery and if we really like it then it may eventually end up in the General WOLAS Images gallery.

If you are sending in images it would really help if you meet the following conditions:
– less than 1200 pixels width or height
– jpeg format (or gif format if animated)
– no more than 500kB in size for jpeg and 1MB for animated gif
– please put the object name and your name in the file name
– if you want to add further details for people to see when posted on the website, please emboss them in the image itself

Geoff Smith Trophy

Each year WOLAS awards the Geoff Smith Trophy to the member of the society who is deemed to be the most prolific observer and has amassed the greatest number of observing points.

Points are awarded for entering an observation at the monthly meeting observing slot and also for attendance at any Piggotts observing sessions. (Note: All entries into the monthly meeting are given the same number of points regardless of the relative quality of the submission and whether or not they win any out-of the-hat prize at that monthly meeting.)

The prize for the winner is the Geoff Smith Trophy which is a shield awarded at our September meeting. The trophy is named after a previous secretary of WOLAS who was a very keen observer but who unfortunately died very suddently at an early age.

Previous winners of the trophy are;

1982-83 Roy Thomas
1983-84 Alex Treatcher
1984-85 John Gregory
1985-86 David Frydman
1986-87 Ken Meadows
1987-88 Stan Armstrong
1988-89 Richard Westwood
1989-90 Richard Westwood
1990-91 Richard Westwood
1991-92 Stan Armstrong
1992-93 John Gillet
1993-94 Richard Westwood
1994-95 Colin Kyte
1995-96 Ken Meadows
1996-97 Colin Kyte
1997-98 Richard Westwood
1998-99 Martin Lewis
1999-00 Ken Meadows
2000-01 Tom Scott
2001-02 Ken Meadows
2002-03 Ken Meadows
2003-04 Ken Meadows
2004-05 Derek Baker
2005-06 James Jefferson
2006-07 David Arditti
2007-08 Martin Lewis
2008-09 David Arditti
2009-10 David Hepwood
2010-11 Martin Lewis
2011-12 Martin Lewis
2012-13 Bob Winter